Tuesday, 30 January 2018

No Pressure

The No Pressure 2017 exhibition is a presentation of work by the graduating students of The University for the Creative Arts Epsom. The show is a culmination of BA (Hons) Graphic design work and reflects the final word from students before finishing their degree. The Exhibition ran for 4 days out of Shop 8, at Brick Lane, as part of the Free Range Design week. The space provided a platform for the work of emerging creatives to be showcased and connect with a London based audience.
This is the broadsheet publication that was produced to accompany the exhibition. The finished size is 300x195mm, which folds out to 780x600mm. It is printed offset litho, CMYK, one side and one colour, black on the reverse.

The first spread opens like this....
...and this is the inside spread
Click on images to enlarge
It is printed on our Redeem 100% Recycled 80gsm. For those readers not familiar with this paper, it is an uncoated with a neutral white (slightly grey) shade giving the publication a feel which really works with the images and most importantly, the pages which are purely type.

You can see from the image below, the way that it folds in on itself. This format is usually called a 16pp parallel fold.
On the inside, it is printed in just black. There are four images used in the inside:
As you can see from the detail image below, the images have also printed spectacularly well and the solid blacks are good too. Printing is by Gavin Martin Colournet and they have made an excellent job of it. Dave Miller liaised with the students, taking care and attention that they understood the process as they are not used to buying print.
The design of the literature is by Charlie Smith, on of the students at UCA.

The rest of the graduating students are as follows:
Jennifer Abbott Stephanie Andrew Charlie Anker-Smith Rachel Brandon Anna Brooks Harry Brown Paige Burton Cady Carolissen Sadia Choudhury Zemeka Clarke Beth Dadson Folayemi Davis Emma Farquharson Devanté Ferguson Mark Ferreira Natalie Francis Chris Frewin Emily Harlow Rachael Hayes Maria Jacob Alexandre Ciarán Jones Fatima Khawam Nick Kwong Rebecca Lennon Sandy Matta Daniel Merrett Claire Moisset Kee-Anna Morgan Chuka Okechukwu Deji Olabisi Dianne Pereyra-Aylas Amy Phu Jadon Sanders Jamie Sawyer Roselinda Sowole Penelope Speer Emma Sprules Santhyah Suthagar Rose Tierney Kieran Viney Dale Watson Danielle West Sarah Willmott

Posted by Justin Hobson 30.01.2018

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for your comment! If I like it, I'll add it on. Cheers J